Photojournalism, Sept. 30, 2019

Photojournalism is an interesting subject. It can be difficult to get the perfect picture that tells a journalistic story. Sure, a picture is worth one thousand words, but it takes a certain picture to formulate those thousand words into telling a story. It can be somewhat of a struggle to get the right photo, especially considering the many hoops that need to be jumped through in the world of photojournalism.

Paint – John Innocenti and Logan Raper in the midst of painting a mock Berlin Wall to commemorate the 30 year anniversary of the Berlin Wall being torn down.

For the photo Paint, I was walking from COE Library to the Classroom Building, and I saw some students painting on a wall. I took a few photos of the event at hand, and then later asked the two young men if I could publish this picture and asked for their names to use in the assignment as well. Taking the photos first and then asking for them to be used in the assignment seemed to be much easier than asking prior to taking the pictures. It was easy for me to get this photograph, but it was a little uncomfortable going up to the students and asking them if I could use their pictures and their names. Though it was a little awkward and uncomfortable, it ended up being completely fine and not that big of a deal at all. I used the rule of thirds, trying to get Innocenti painting in the top-left point of the rule of thirds for the photograph.

Soar – Matthew Sigel flies through the sky while performing a 360 at the Laramie Skatepark.

The Laramie Skatepark is only two blocks from my house and I have skateboarded here many times. It was very cloudy and it seemed that it would rain, which usually scares the visitors of the skatepark to stay away. Sigel was here alone, trying this trick many times, and he landed it right as I took my first picture. was very easy to get this shot as I just crouched to the side and took many photos. I was excited for Sigel, as I watched him attempt this trick many times before he finally landed it and I got it on camera. I used the point of view as a creative device for these photos, as I held my camera just barely above the ground to get this angle.

Nine-to-Five – Clarke Whitehead and Haley McKain working at the COE Library Help Desk

I walked through COE Library while finishing homework and figured I could take photographs for this assignment while I was here. I wanted to show jobs that students do on campus, and I wasn’t allowed to take pictures at the coffee shop, so I figured this would work. I felt uncomfortable taking these photos, because McKain got very nervous and awkward when I asked if I could photograph them. This made it somewhat difficult for me to get the shot that I wanted to get, but evidently I did end up getting it. I again used point of view to get this photo, as Whitehead being closer to me than McKain helps express the depth of the field in this photograph.

Stripes – Mingna Zeng taking her shot at pool in Pete’s Game Room

I walked to Pete’s Game Room to visit with my friend who works behind the bar, and I noticed this opportunity to take photos. I asked the two people playing pool if I could photograph them, then started taking pictures. This photo was easy to get. I started to get used to the discomfort and declined offers of pictures at this point. I used focus as a creative device as I left the 13 ball out of focus to make Zeng the main subject of the photo.

Solids – Josh Mitchell takes his shot at pool Pete’s Game Room

This was the same incident as before, another easy photo to get, this time of Mitchell rather than Zeng. Mitchell was very polite when I asked to take his photo, and this made me a lot more comfortable in getting the photograph, also making this photo easy for me to get. I used point of view as a creative device again, as Mitchell is shooting towards the camera, making for an interesting photograph and showing depth.

Leave a comment